Quando eu era criança eu adorava ouvir as fitas cassete que meus pais haviam comprado em sua viagem ao Peru/Bolívia. O som das flautas de bambu tocando melodias andinas tradicionais passa uma sensação de tranqüilidade que poucos estilos musicais conseguem passar.

 When I was a kid I loved to listen to the cassette tapes that my parents bought on their trip to Peru and Bolivia. The sound of bamboo flutes and traditional Andean melodies transmit a sensation of tranquility that are very rare to find in other musical styles.


Hoje em dia, há peruanos e bolivianos em várias cidades do Brasil. Mas os que se apresentam nas ruas tocando seus instrumentos tradicionais raramente tocam as músicas folclóricas que eu tanto gosto. No fim das contas, tenho que me conformar que eles só tocam os sucessos internacionais com arranjos para suas flautas e cavacos.

Nowadays, many Brazilian cities are home to Peruvian and Bolivian immigrants. However, those who are street performers and play their traditional musical instruments hardly play the Andean folk music that I like so much. In the end, I have to accept that they will only play international hits arranged to their flutes and ukeleles. 


